Who we are

Lewisham Youth Theatre delivers participatory drama and performance projects with young people aged 3-24 who live or learn in Lewisham, with the aim that everyone who takes part will gain increased wellbeing and life chances.  We believe that participation in theatre leads to the development and empowerment of young people. We commit to ensuring that this opportunity is available to all young people in Lewisham and that no-one should be excluded because of economic or social background.

Lewisham Youth Theatre (LYT) has been working with young people for over 25 years. All of our services are free to young people who live or learn in Lewisham. In 2002, when we began a residency at the Broadway Theatre, Catford, LYT worked with 20 young people a year and had an annual income of £10,000. Since then, LYT has grown steadily. Each year , we now work with over 150 young people in sustained theatre projects, reach over 700 children and young people through outreach workshops and perform to over 400 community members. We have created a thriving centre where young people participate in theatre at every level.

In 2015, Lewisham Youth Theatre was awarded a Gold Level London Youth Quality Mark, a quality assurance scheme accredited by City and Guilds.

Who’s who at LYT

   Helen Stanley – Artistic Director


Victoria Shaskan – Executive Director


Sheryl Malcolm – Programmes Manager: Participation

Charlie Risius – Programmes Administrator
Laurel Ashton – Individual & Corporate Fundraiser

We are supported by a passionate and committed Council of Management who provide governance, oversight and guidance on strategic organisational management.

Find out more: read LYT’s 2014 – 2017 Business Plan.

Our Council of Management members:


Grahame Anderson
Danielle Moseley (Secretary)
Rena Sodhi
Jamiel Thomas
Tom Toomse-Smith (Treasurer)
Genine Whitehorne

LYT’s Council of Management’s Chairperson is currently allocated on a rolling basis.

If you are interested in joining our Council of Management, click here.

Our Patrons

Mike Wilson CBE: Mike has worked in the financial services industry since 1963 and founded the St. James’s Place Group with Sir Mark Weinberg in 1991. He was Chief Executive until September 2004 and was Chairman of the company until December 2011, when he resigned from the Board. Mike is a director of the St. James’s Place Foundation and was formerly Chairman of the Mental Health Foundation.

Phaldut Sharma: Phaldut  is an actor and writer, known for Gravity (2013), Children of Men (2006) and EastEnders (1985).

Polly Teale: Polly is an award-winning theatre practitioner. She was artistic director of Shared Experience from 1995 – 2015. Polly has created a unique body of work as a writer and director that has won critical and audience acclaim with productions transferring to the West End and touring internationally.

Shirley Greenwood: Shirley is a British actress, known for London’s Burning (1988), All-Star Family Fortunes (2001) and Cash in the Attic (2002).

Our Annual Reports

Click below to download our past annual reports (PDFs):

LYT Annual Report 2015-2016

LYT Annual Report 2014-2015

LYT Annual Report 2013-2014

LYT Annual Report 2012-2013

LYT Annual Report 2011-2012

LYT Annual Report 2010-2011

LYT Annual Report 2009-2010

LYT Annual Report 2008-2009

LYT Annual Report 2007-2008

LYT Annual Report 2006-2007

Keep Up To Date With LYT

Subscribe to our mailing list

* indicates required